NEW COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COLLABORATION Kicks-Off June 24, 2021

The ACUB Advisory Board Sponsors new Community Development plan for six rural counties surrounding Fort Benning

Local governments in Chattahoochee, Marion, Stewart, Talbot, and Taylor Counties in GA, and Russell County, AL, will soon begin development of individual compatible use and community economic development plans, and one overarching regional plan, to help drive new jobs, new investment, and improved quality of life in the region. The Army Compatible Use Buffer (ACUB) Advisory Board is sponsoring the activity, with funding from the Department of Defense's Office of Local Defense Community Cooperation.

The two-year project will begin with a Kick-Off event at the National Infantry Museum in Columbus on Thursday, June 24th. Remarks from Fort Benning's new Garrison Commander, Col. Alexis Rivera, Deron Davis, Executive Director of The Nature Conservancy – Georgia, and UGA Vice-President of Public Service and Outreach, Dr. Jennifer Frum, will highlight the event celebrating the six county collaboration with the ACUB Advisory Board and Fort Benning.

The planning project will be led by UGA's Carl Vinson Institute of Government (CVIOG), the River Valley Regional Commission, Fort Benning, and regional conservation and natural resource organizations. The final plans will result from a community driven, cooperative, and strategic planning process that will help establish economic development and ecotourism opportunities and goals in Chattahoochee, Marion, Stewart, Talbot, and Taylor Counties in GA, and Russell County, AL. The plan will also serve as a partial update and addendum to the 2008 Fort Benning Joint Land Use Study (JLUS), and will include compatible uses within and adjacent to the Fort Benning Army Compatible Use Buffer (ACUB) outside the Installation boundary.

ACUB Advisory Board members represent Fort Benning, The Nature Conservancy, Georgia Department of Natural Resources, Georgia Forestry Commission, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Meetings to solicit community stakeholder input will begin later this summer. For more information, you may send an email to RiverValleyCCD@uga.edu.

The mission of the **River Valley Regional Commission (RVRC)** is to create, promote and foster orderly growth and economic prosperity for our region, working with 35 municipalities and county governments in the following 16 counties: Chattahoochee, Clay, Crisp, Dooly, Harris, Macon, Marion, Muscogee, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, and Webster.

The **Carl Vinson Institute of Government (CVIOG)** is one of eight units within Public Service and Outreach at the University of Georgia, committed to improving people's lives by helping create jobs and prosperity, developing leaders and addressing the state's most critical issues.